96FM Perth
Experience The Change

Now Playing:

Listen on

Patrick Dangerfield SMASHES Brownlow Record In Win!

What a night! Geelong's legendary Paddy Dangerfield is taking home the Brownlow medal for the 2016 AFL season with an amazing 35 votes.

This enters Paddy to the record books as he smashes the record for the number of votes for the prestigious award – with Dane Swan coming now in second place from when he won with 34 votes in 2011.

Dangerfield has had quite the fantastic season, his first playing for Geelong after eight years with Adelaide. He’s played in all of their home and away games, and he scored an unbelievable 48 possessions in the epic battle against North Melbourne in Round 12. He is also a four-time All-Australian player. Dangerfield won the AFL Players most valuable players award, the AFL coaches player of the year award and a host of media awards this season such as the Herald Sun and Age player of the year. Congratulations on the win Paddy!

We of course also have to congratulate the players who placed in the top 4 behind Paddy.

AFL Brownlow Medal 2016 Top 5

1. Patrick Dangerfield - 35 votes
2. Luke Parker - 26 votes
3. Dustin Martin- 25 votes
4. Rory Sloane (ineligible) - 24 votes
5. Andrew Gaff - 21 Votes

Now.. roll on the Grand Final!

Share this: