Luke Shuey will lead West Coast’s AFL premiership assault in 2020 after being appointed Shannon Hurn’s successor as captain.

The 29-year-old, who has played 201 games for West Coast across 10 seasons, won the Eagles’ best-and-fairest award this year.

Shuey also claimed the Norm Smith Medal as best afield in the 2018 premiership-winning team under Hurn, who stepped down this week after five years as captain.

West Coast Eagles captains

Ross Glendinning 1987-88
Murray Rance 1989
Steve Malaxos 1990
John Worsfold 1991-98
Guy McKenna 1999-00
Dean Kemp 2001
Ben Cousins 2001-05
Chris Judd 2006-07
Darren Glass 2008-14
Shannon Hurn 2015-19
Luke Shuey 2020-


with AAP