Vegans are now OK to eat Allen’s Jelly Beans after they stopped using food colouring made from… crushed beetles.

Formally known as carmine, the form of food colouring is quite popular amongst confectionery products.

Now, Allen’s will be using a colouring agent derived from beetroot and paprika which will make the lolly 100% plant-based.