Warning: mild spoilers 

‘The Walking Dead: The Ones Who Live’ emerges as the latest and most eagerly anticipated addition to The Walking Dead universe.

Focused on Rick and Michonne’s post-apocalyptic journey, the series dives into Rick’s abduction by Jadis and his subsequent confinement within the Civic Republic Military (CRM). Meanwhile, Michonne searches for him.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Stan. (@stanaustralia)

The series’ timeline amidst numerous spin-offs and time jumps can mess with your head, so here’s a (super) quick recap:

  • Season 9 (part one) sees the departure of Rick via the bridge explosion before the story jumps forward six years in season 9 (part two) – largely indicated by Judith Grimes, who is now 10 years old. To refresh your memory, this is time where Daryl is living on his own the woods (and crosses paths with Leah who later aligns herself with the Reapers). Maggie has headed off with Georgie to establish new communities (where even is Georgie). This is also around the time Alpha and the Whisperers make their first appearance.
  • Season 10 starts with another time jump, roughly a year, as Michonne embarks on her quest to find Rick.
  • The final season, season 11, picks up where S10 left off, placing the timeline at about 12 years since we first saw Rick waking up in hospital.

OK, so.

‘The Walking Dead: The Ones Who Live’ is set approximately five years post-bridge explosion.

Rick is grappling with life under CRM control and being haunted by thoughts of his family. His escape attempts are just that – attempts.

Time advances steadily, indicated by Rick’s evolving circumstances within CRM and his training alongside new ally, Pearl.

Ultimately, the timelines converge in a dramatic finale, uniting Rick and Michonne in the present day, mirroring the conclusion of “The Walking Dead” and marking more than 13 years since the start of the apocalypse.

You can stream The Walking Dead: The Ones Who Live on Stan.